top of page

Must Do Activities When Visiting Orlando, Florida

I have been to Florida now a total of 5 times, previously going with my grandparents twice when I was younger, and the past 3 times going with my parents and little brother, and I can safely say I absolutely love it.


There is so much to do in Florida, so much that I believe you will never ever be able to cover and do it all, no matter how many times you go! There are constantly new things opening over in Orlando, and every time you leave you always see something you would have loved to do but never even knew existed.


Here I will be sharing with you all of my top places and experiences that in my opinion, are a must-do when you visit and something that everyone will enjoy, here goes!


Old Town Car Show

Just a little bit out of Orlando, about a 20-minute drive from International Drive there is a place called Old Town, Kissimmee. This place consists of the recreation of a classic Florida town, featuring historical buildings and storefronts with some seventy unique shops, restaurants, bars, attractions, and rides. My favourite thing about here though is the Car Shows that take place every Friday, Saturday, and Sunday. Friday's car show features specific models of cars, a new model every time, on Saturday the show features muscle cars, and Sunday, my personal favourite, features the classics. Old Town is so much fun to visit at night time as there is such a buzz and atmosphere with people dressed up as 70s icons, music and 70s styled theming throughout- this is a must-visit!


Pet the Sting Rays at SeaWorld

Pretty much the most controversial place in Orlando is Sea World. I know many people disagree with visiting here due to the animals being trapped in small enclosures with no freedom, but despite this, the place is still very magical- and I must add they have made a lot of improvements over the years. My all-time favourite thing to do here, which may sound very silly is to go to the sting ray enclosure. Located just inside the park, you can go here and pet the sting rays as they swim past in the enclosure in front of you, it is magical! I must admit, out of the many many times I have visited Sea World, I have only been brave enough to pet them once- which was when I just visited in 2022. For me, it was just so scary to put your hand into them swimming around freely and I just couldn't bring myself to do it! but I am so glad I finally plucked up the courage and did it.


Helicopter Ride

Another experience that is a must-do in my opinion is flying over Orlando in a helicopter tour. There are many of these little tour places all over Orlando, some even on International Drive. I have been lucky enough to do this twice now, and both times I genuinely had the best time, it is so interesting to see what Orlando looks like from just above and to just hover over some of the huge theme parks. Being in a helicopter too, is such a great experience and it does feel super weird- it is a once-in-a-lifetime experience and I definitely recommend that you do it when in Orlando!



Harry Potter World

This may totally go without saying, but visiting the Wizarding World Of Harry Potter, located in Universal Studios and Islands of Adventure is a total must-do! This is my ultimate favourite place in Orlando, although I wouldn't class myself as a total potter head, I do love the movies, and being here is just so surreal, it makes you feel like you are right in the center of the movie. There is a dining hall just like the one in the movie, Ollivander's wand shop, and even Bertie Bott's sweet shop- Honeydukes. This place truly is magical and somewhere you shouldn't even have to think twice about visiting.



Mangos Dance Dinner Show

Somewhere I actually don't hear a lot of people raving about or even speaking about, is Mango's, which is located right in the center of International Drive. This is basically a huge nightclub, which has a stage right at the front and hosts dinner shows. Whilst your dinner is being served, there are shows that take place on the stage for your entertainment whilst you eat. I absolutely loved it here when I went in 2019, the show which I went to go see was a Michael Jackson tribute and was absolutely amazing. There were flamenco dancers, DJs, and you even get your photo taken before you go in by a professional. To be honest, it did feel like you were getting served dinner right in the center of a lively nightclub, which is basically what it is. It was such a great experience. Kids are welcome too!



Florida Outlets

If you know me, you know my favourite activity and hobby of all time, is shopping. Even when I was super young (around 12) and visiting Florida for the first time, the outlets were on my list of places to visit. I could spend absolutely hours here walking through the shops and spending money, there is every shop you can imagine, and the prices are all half price or less as they are all discounted items. My idea of heaven! Definitely spare yourself some days free to come here and shop, and some space in your suitcase in fact!


Walt Disney World Castle

Definitely one of the most magical places in the whole entire world is Walt Disney World. I have been here a few times, but the most recent time I visited we chose to not go just because of how busy the park is and how much queuing you need to do- so just prepare for that! Nonetheless, it is absolutely breathtaking and so surreal when you are walking down that main street and see the castle, it's a feeling like no other. At night, there is a magical lights show in which thousands all gather around to watch the castle light up and a parade of all the characters soar through the streets. I love seeing these shows, and it is definitely something I feel you need to do at least once whilst in Florida, just to say you have seen it, no matter how old you are.


Experience a Cinema

It wasn't until the most recent time visiting Florida I actually visited a cinema over there, I always see there are so many but have never actually thought of going in. Whilst a brutal storm was brewing, me and my family were at Universal Studios and we thought it would be a good time to sit and relax after a busy holiday and watch a movie in the cinema at Universal. We went to see the newest Jurassic Park movie and the cinema was huge! So different from the ones back home. All seats are reclining, every seat has a table and the screens are 10x the size of the UK ones. We bought a load of snacks and ended up having such a great time here, I definitely recommend you visit a cinema whilst in Orlando as it is such a different experience from going back home.


Words Largest Mcdonalds

McDonald's is my all-time favourite fast food takeaway, so when I saw that the biggest Mcdonald's in the whole world was located on International Drive, just a walk away from our hotel, I knew I had to go. I have been here several times and am amazed every time I step into the restaurant. The place is huge! There is a play area as well as a full gaming floor with arcade games. The menu has so much on it too, such as pizza and pasta. Of course, I stuck to my usual Big Mac, but the portions are 10x the size which is such a bonus and you are always guaranteed to enjoy the food.


Madame Tussauds

The Last place (I can think of!) to recommend everyone visit is Madame Tussauds, which is located just at ICON park, on International Drive. I have only been here once but had such a good time here. Every Madame Tussauds is different with different wax figures, but this is the best one I have been to. It was genuinely so much fun to pose and get photos with all the celebrities, I definitely recommend it here especially if it is a stormy day and you are looking for an inside activity.


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page