top of page

A Look Back At My Previous (Not So Great) Halloween Costumes

All my life I have always been extremely indecisive, and in terms of Halloween and choosing a costume in plenty of time- this was not, and is not my strong point. One thing that has come out of my indecisiveness, is a whole bunch of photos of me posing with extremely last-minute Halloween costumes on. In this blog post, I will be sharing my (not-so-good) Halloween costumes over the past years of my life- well the ones I actually have photos of. If you are looking for Halloween costume inspiration, I can't guarantee you will find it here, but what I can guarantee is to make you laugh. Enjoy!


Age 5 / An Ugly Witch

Here is the first photo I have of me dressed up for Halloween, no doubt there are photos of me somewhere younger but this is what I could find on my phone. I don't know why little 6-year-old me, opted to dress as an ugly witch for Halloween when all my friends around me were dressing as fairies, princesses, and unicorns- maybe I just wanted to stand out? and that I certainly did. The green and black face paint really adds to the ugly theme so I would give an extra point for the dedication. Also, why did I have to be an UGLY witch, why not just a normal one?.. Nonetheless, not a bad effort for a Halloween costume I guess.


Age 8 / Scream

I remember this Halloween like it was yesterday, all my friends were going to the school Halloween party and I was adamant I was not going. The day of the party comes around, and I decide that day I wanted to buy a ticket, the only problem is- I had no costume. Let's just say my mum and gran weren't best pleased when I turned up after school with a ticket to the disco for that same night. This scream costume is actually my step dads, so was way too big on me, but with a few adjustments, I guess it was my only option. I mean I did stick with the non-girly theme I had gone for aged 6.


Age 9/ Punk Witch

At age 10, I still hadn't learned my lesson about planning my Halloween costume ahead of time. Yet again, I had decided I wanted to go to the Halloween disco, this time the day before! I had given my mum and gran a whole 24 hours to sort my costume- surely that's enough right? After a late-night after-school trip to ASDA, I came home with the last costume on the shelf- A Punk Witch. Maybe there was a reason it was the last costume on the shelf, maybe it was the fact it was a punk witch- what even is that? Despite the fact I had a very last-minute outfit, yet again, I still loved my outfit ( I had a strange obsession with witches it seems) and went ahead to the Halloween disco, alongside my best friend Taylor- who always absolutely excelled at Halloween costumes. When I say excelled, she always ended up either winning the Halloween disco award for best dressed or came runner up. I am still amazed to this day that she would even be caught dead turning up beside me in these extremely last-minute costumes, every year may I add. Just for reference, I have inserted three of Taylor's Halloween costumes- just Imagining me turning up to the party beside her makes me laugh in itself.



Age 10 / Amy Winehouse

I don't even need to explain again why I didn't have a proper costume this year, all I will say again is last minute. I remember shoveling through my wardrobe trying to come up with outfits as it was yet again, too late to order anything. I then came up with the idea of Amy Winehouse, as I loved her music at this age- obviously not knowing much about her other than her songs. Somehow, my mum agreed to this and of course, made me a fake cigarette to take to the school disco with me alongside drawing tattoos on my body with eyeliner. This time I don't even know how I wasn't denied entry at the door. I also have no idea where I got the black wig from, probably lying around the house from one of my mum's old costumes. Anyway, I ran with the idea of Amy Winehouse and came up with this. This is actually my favourite Halloween costume so that just shows you the bar is set very low.


Age 11 / A Neon Raver?

At the age of 11, I finally think I learned my lesson and had an outfit planned of what I wanted to be, in my head it probably looked a bit different but nonetheless, I wanted to be a neon raver- whatever that is. I got my mum to order me a tutu, and a bunch of neon clothing to wear with it. I messed up my hair and even threw a pair of tights on as a headband alongside some neon glow sticks. I loved it. I'm not sure why or what gave me this idea, but I had an idea this time, (so be it a questionable one) but that is all that mattered.


Age 18 / A Ninja

I think after all the stress of picking outfits for primary school discos, I took a huge time out from Halloween... Until when I was 18 me and my friends decided we were going to a clubbing event in town for Halloween. This time I was very organized, organized to the point I even had time to buy red contact lenses. I actually think this is a pretty cool outfit and I probably would wear it again if I had to. At least it is not a witch or half attempt at a costume and is actually a proper one I had ordered online, I will give myself that.











22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page