top of page

How To Recreate Taco Bell's Crunch Wrap Supreme At Home

I absolutely love Mexican food and am a complete sucker for tacos, nachos, and all the other types of food that Mexico had to offer. I must confess however, I am not the biggest Taco Bell fan- but I do love their beef crunch wrap supremes and have tried them a few times.


After my TikTok 'For You Page' turned American for a few days, with people making their own versions of the famous crunch wrap supreme my cravings took over and I decided to pop to Asda and make a UK version. Here I will be sharing with you my recipe and the ingredients I bought to make my very own, UK-friendly version of the Taco Bell crunch wrap supreme, however, please note- I am no professional and am just sharing this for content purposes.


INGREDIENTS:
  • Minced Beef

  • Old El Paso Taco Seasoning

  • Tortilla wraps

  • Grated cheese of choice

  • Cheese sauce

  • Red Onion

  • Mayonnaise

  • Old El Paso Taco shells

  • Fiesta Mesta Nacho Cheese Sauce


Where To Start:

Start by spreading some mayonnaise on a flour tortilla wrap as well as some Fiesta Mesta nacho cheese sauce. Make sure to coat the wrap evenly edge to edge as this will act as the 'glue' to stick the wrap together. Set this aside, we will come back to this later.


In a pot, brown your mince. I used 500g of lean mince for reference. When your mince is cooked, add a sachet of Old El Paso taco seasoning. This is my favourite taco seasoning but there are so many different branded ones out there-ASDA even have their own smart price version. Next, dice half an onion, and add this to the beef and seasoning. Cook the onion until soft and then set your mixture aside.


Take a few spoonfuls of your mixture and center it in the middle of your tortilla wrap and top it with your choice of cheese- I chose cheddar. Make sure not to put too much filling into your wrap as doing so makes it harder for the wrap to stay together. You can then add your other optional toppings- I just added some lettuce as I am not the biggest fan of tomatoes.


Next, take your Old El Paso taco shells and snap one in half, allowing you to lay the two sides on the taco flat on top of your mixture. On the original crunch wrap, and the American versions of this on TikTok they used flat crisp like taco shells called tostadas, but the Old El Paso shells were the closest to this I could find in the UK- basically the same thing but in a taco shape.


For the next step, take another tortilla wrap and cut out a smaller circle covering the toppings on your other wrap. This is to cover the hole that will be visible once the wrap is folded up, now let's get to wrapping.


Now that all the ingredients are loaded up, it's time to fold this bad boy. Begin by simply pulling one side in, holding it flat, and then folding around the rest of the tortilla until it's all sealed.


To cook it, either drizzle half the oil onto a panini press (or cast iron skillet) and place the folded side down. Cook over medium heat until the exterior of the crunch wrap is golden and crunchy. The cheese melts pretty fast so you shouldn't have to worry about cooking it too long. Besides, you don't want that lettuce to get too soggy!


DON'T EAT MEAT?

If you're veg or are trying to stay away from red meat, switch it up and swap it out! I think some refried beans, scrambled eggs or halloumi cheese would be super tasty on this.


EXTRA BEEF? / WHAT TO PAIR YOUR WRAP WITH

I am always the culprit of making too much, and when it comes to this recipe it is likely you will have some mince left over as you can't fit too much in the wrap. I made nachos with the leftover mince as a side with my crunch wrap.


To do this, I just tipped some ASDA essential salted tortilla chips into a dish, topped with minced beef, plenty of cheese, and the cheese sauce. Next time I make these, I will add some guacamole, jalapenos, and sour cream also- I just didn't have these ingredients to hand.


5 views0 comments
bottom of page