top of page

January Health Kick: Why You Should Stick With It In February & What Worked For Me

'New year, new me'.


A phrase you have probably heard someone in your lifetime say, especially when it comes to dieting and getting fit for the new year. Succeed or fail, it's still good to know you have tried. However, an issue many bump into, is burning themselves out in January, to then throw all their hard work out the window by the time February comes. Don't let your health kick end after January! Stay with it! And if you haven't yet started living a healthier lifestyle, February is the perfect time to start.


Now don't get me wrong I definitely don't have the perfect diet, nor do I class myself as a 'gym bunny'- I am far from it, but here are a few tips and tricks I have been using since the new year, which have helped me loose a bit of weight and tone up (even the tiniest bit is still progress)- Including my favourite low calorie snacks. This is the perfect post to read if you were like me- not knowing where to start and being a very much beginner in terms of health and fitness.


Of course going to the gym/ working out is essential when it comes to losing weight and toning up, but make sure not to be too harsh on yourself and overwork your body. I personally started going to the gym twice a week, one gym session myself and another a gym class with others, which I found really helps keep me motivated. In my notes I keep a workout plan, and always know what I am going to do upon entering the gym. Sticking to the same workouts week in and week out I found works best for me, and remember, the more variety of workouts you are doing isn't always best- doing 4 workouts for half an hour is more beneficial than doing 10 for half an hour.


I bought myself an Apple watch, which really helps keep me motivated. Obviously this is not an essential, but I have found it really contributed to my motivation. The watch notifies you if you have been sitting for too long, tracks your steps and calories, and my favourite part is the rings app on it. This is like a fun game which the aim is to close your three rings- standing time, exercise time and moving time. You can see when friends complete workouts and compete against them- which I love.


When it comes to eating healthy and food, this is my down fall. Instead of making myself stick to a super strict calorie deficit diet, I allow myself to eat well Monday-Friday, and then Saturday and Sunday cut myself some slack and go out to eat/ eat takeaways. This helps me look forward to the weekends as I know that I can eat what I want then and I don't get bored of the same boring healthy meals.


A mistake I always tended to make is automatically going for the snacks that actually say 'low calorie' or 'under 100 calories' on them, but actually, there are lots of well known snacks that are just as low in calories. For example Mars Bars/Twix/Snickers have brought out single bars (smaller than the average) which are only 99 calories each.


Here are some of my favourite hidden gem low calorie snacks, that you would never know have little calories in them! and trust me, I am very fussy when it comes to low calorie snacks as a lot of them I actually dislike.


1. SkinnyWhip Chocolate Orange Bars (99 cals)

2. Snack A Jack's Sweet Chilli (77 cals)

3. Walkers Baked Not Fried Crisps (109 cals)

4. Fibre One Chocolate Brownie Bars (90 cals)

5. Go Ahead Yoghurt Breaks (Strawberry) (71 cals)

6. Grab it Ready to Eat Chinese Chicken Sticks (65 cals)

7.Taste Inc 100% Chargrilled Chicken Fillets Bbq (58cals)

8. Slow Roasted Fridge Raiders (43 cals) 9. Hartleys Strawberry/Rhubarb and custard/Raspberry Jelly Pots (10cals)

10.Muller Light Chocolate Fix Milk Chocolate Pots (95cals)

my favourite fitness apps


1. My Fitness Pal

I really enjoy using this app to help track what I am eating. I use it mostly because of the macros section of it which allows you to keep track of how much protein, carbs and fats you are eating in order to try keep a healthy balance.


2. 30 Day Ab Challenge/ 30 Day Squat Challenge

This app is great for getting into a routine, it is basically a 30 day challenge which encourages you to do a fitness exercise everyday starting from 20 squats/ ab exercise a day, and then increasing up to a higher amount. I have tried this many times and I must say though it gets very hard! I have only managed to make it to day 20 in the past so be warned!!


3. Pure Gym

This is or anyone that has a membership with Pure Gym as I didn't know this myself and only found out a few weeks ago also! The Pure Gym app has a workout section on it which gives you recommended workouts as well as daily challenge ones- I love using this and I have my favourite workouts saved so I can go back an do them again and again every week.


4. Apple Fitness +

This is another app that includes paying a subscription (I got a year for free with my apple watch).But this app is so good for workouts and podcasts. I personally love the cardio workout videos which are basically an instructor and playlist talking you through what to do- as if you were in a class with them. I use it for the cycling machine and treadmill, I just prop my phone up, put in my headphones and then follow along the video- the music is always great on them too and there is new ones released every week. I also noticed they have lots of workout podcasts for walking/running too which look interesting.


Drinking Water

I struggle to drink a lot of water a day and barely ever do so as I always forget- but this water bottle from Amazon has helped me so much! It has a timescale written on it from 8am to 7pm, which encourages you to drink down to the next line before the hour is up. By the time 7pm hits you would have drank 1.8l a day- without even realizing. There are many different ones available online- but this is the one I have.


gym wear

The last tip I have to a great workout may sound silly, but definitely works! Is to get yourself some nice gym wear! I know when I am in the gym and I like my outfit, my workout is always 10x better! And if I feel uncomfortable in what I am wearing- it will make me just want to leave. I love wearing an oversized t shirt rather than a tight one as it is what I feel most comfortable in, but wear whatever you prefer- Primark always have really good quality gym sets for really cheap if you aren't wanting to splurge out straight away.


Health and fitness Instagram accounts to help keep you motivated

@Atkincoaching - for THE best and most simple healthy recipes ever!

@Laurensimpsonfitness - For the best female body transformations

@Happierjords - For more amazing mouth watering recipes (with calorie counts)

@Coach_Paristhorpe - For workout tips and tricks

@Themealprepking - For the best weekly meal prep ideas

@Sarahjohnstonefit - For 'What I eat in a day' posts to get inspired

@Annabnanafit - For the best beginner workout guides

@Thefemalehustlers - For motivational quotes and stories

@Sosheslays - For some aesthetically pleasing motivation

@mels_fitness_ - For more great workout/ healthy lifestyle tips


Why not start February off with a challenge?

Teenage Cancer Trust have launched a fitness fundraising campaign for February which includes doing a whole 2,800 squats throughout the course of a month. The process is easy- just set up a fundraising page- whether that be Facebook or Just Giving and sign up for a free teenage cancer trust T-Shirt. Then let the squatting commence!100 a day will get you to the grand total of 2,800 at the end of February.


Good Luck everyone!! And remember, work for strong not skinny.




24 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page