top of page

2022: Highlights

2022 has been a year full of highs and lows, but despite the lows, it has definitely been a year to remember. There have been so many memorable moments this year that will remain core memories for me forever, such as events and holidays I will never forget!


Here I will be sharing with you all my highlights of 2022 and what really made this year special- in no particular order.


Overnights

I have been on so many overnights this year with my fiancee Antony. We have stayed at Dakota Eurocentral, Citizen M Glasgow and Malmaison Glasgow this year and I have loved every one. I love going on little overnights into town and little spontaneous date nights as we always have the best time eating out in restraunts and going out for drinks, I'm sure there will be many more in 2023!


Florida

In June, my mum, step dad, little brother and I went on a family holiday to Florida, and had the best time ever! This was my fifth time visiting Florida and I have been going since i was super young with my grandparents. Florida never gets boring or looses its spark, it will always be the most magical and special place in the world and I'm so grateful to have been more than once! Highlights of the holiday this year was visiting Harry Potter World, shopping in the outlets (of course) as well as eating out in all the American restaurants.



Hamilton Races

In March, my work treated everyone to a works night out at Hamilton races, this was my first ever time going to the races and it definitely did not disappoint. I loved getting dressed up fancy and having a fancy meal and drinks before the races started. Not to mention, my horse ended up winning three of the races I better thanks to my papas advice, so I ended up coming home with more money than I left with! After the races we had the best night partying outside with a live DJ, it was soo much fun and I definitely want to go back next year.


Blackpool

In March, me and Anony went away a long weekend to Blackpool with his family for his uncle's 40th. I absolutely loved Blackpool and thought it was so much fun, it brought back a lot of nostalgia of when I was younger and visited here. We made the most of the trip and visited Madamme Tussads, walked along the promenade, seen a phsycic and had our palms read as well as partied the weekend away at the hotel. I had the best time here and thought this was such a great little holiday destination which is super underrated- there is just so much to do here!


My Bestie Got Engaged!

In August, my best friend went a holiday to Santorini with her now fiancee Jack, and he proposed to her whilst they were there! When she facetimed me I could not stop crying and was so happy for her! Im still so excited for all the planning for the wedding and hen do! She had her birthday party/ small engagement party in Glasgow at the end of August where we all celebrated the great news.


Coldplay

Also in August, Antony, my friends Tegan and Jay and me all went to see Coldplay at Hamden Park. Oh my god this was one of the best concerts I have ever been to in my life, the atmosphere on the standing pitches was amazing, and we had the best time ever. My favourite part was seeing them sing 'Yellow' live- a real bucket list moment!!!


Amsterdam

Of course, a definite highlight of my year was me adn Antony's trip to Amsterdam. We travelled here for 3 nights in April, and it was filled with such fun activities such as visiting the Ice Bar, Ajax Arena, The Heineken Factory and The Anne Frank house. This is now on of my favorite places ever and I know for sure that will not be my last time visiting Amsterdam- I will definitely be back one day! The whole vibe there is just so laid back and everyone is so friendly and welcoming.


Read my Amsterdam Travel Guide Here: Amsterdam Travel Guide 2022 (rhicardsramblings.com)


21st Birthday

A huge highlight of my 202 was turning 21, and having a huge 21st birthday party in a local hall near me. I had such a brilliant night with all my family and friends and it was genuinely a night I will never forget. Every single person at my party made it so special and showered me with gifts and love which I am so grateful for- I wish I could go back and re-live the day all over again as it just flew in!


TENERIFE

Yet another amazing holiday was my trip to Playa De Las Americas in July, where I went for a week with Antony and a bunch of my other friends. We had the best time ever partying, eating, shopping and chilling. The holiday just absolutely flew in and just feels like a distant memory now but I love looking back on photographs and remembering how much of an amazing time we all had. This was my second time visiting Tenerife and I am sure it wont be my last as I love the vibes there so much!


Read my Playa De Las Americas Food Guide Here: Playa Las Americas, Tenerife: Where To Eat (rhicardsramblings.com)


KEVIN BRIDGES

Me and Antony both very last minute got tickets to see Kevin Bridges Live in October at The Hydro. I bought tickets two days before the event off of someone who was selling them cheaper on Facebook. I have never laughed so much in my entire life and had such a good night at the show, he was absolutely hilarious. I had also won a giveaway of a meal at a fancy steak bar nearby, Chateau-X which we had before going which was a nice touch to the night. I would 100% go see him again when he next tours and can't wait to watch the tour back when it gets released.


ABERDEEN

For my best friend Katie's 21st this year I booked the two of us an overnight in Aberdeen at the end of August. We both had the best time ever and had such a laugh whilst here. We ate at all bar one, and partied the whole night at pubs and clubs, followed by a serious shopping spree the following day... and a rough drive home. This will always be an overnight I will remember as we laughed so much the entire time and have so many silly memories from this weekend.


MOFFAT

For my papa's 65th birthday in October we booked up to go stay in a beautiful big apartment in the city center of Moffat. We stayed here last year for my mums 40th so this was our second time staying here. We all had such a brilliant weekend and it was filled with memories and funny stories that I couldn't even share on here! The apartment was absolutely beautiful and looked so expensive and luxurious, I absolutely loved staying here for the weekend.


GLASGLOW

This year me and Antony did our annual winter time trip to Glasglow at the botanic gardens. This is our third year in a row visiting here and every time it just gets better and better. I love getting dressed up in a cosy winter outfit and seeing all the crazy lights they have to offer. This years theme was dinosaurs so there was lots of kids there too but that did not stop us going again. This year I even convinced Antony to go into the marshmallow pit with me! (even though I only wanted to go in for the photo in front of the fairy lights). I love this little annual trip me and Antony do every year and hope it continues!


GETTING ENGAGED!

Saving the best till last... I got engaged in November! Antony and I stayed at the Dakota Eurocentral which I had mentioned previously, and he popped the question over a candle lit dinner in the restaurant. He was so nervous I have no idea how I didn't suspect a thing all day! The whole restaurant was clapping and cheering when he done it and it was super romantic and lovely, I wouldn't have had it any other way- and I absolutely LOVE my ring- her done so so good! I can't wait for all the wedding prep posts and tips I can share on here, as well as all the partying... the engagement party is already booked and ready to go!


2022 you have been a blast, and I cant wait to see what 2023 has in store!

38 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page