top of page

Why I Started A Blog, and Why You Should Too

Blogging is becoming less and less popular as the years go on, with the increase of social media platforms such as TikTok, YouTube, and Instagram- nobody wants to sit down and blog anymore. Instead, they can take a quick 60-second video that gets the same message across with a lot less effort. This makes me a bit sad.


I absolutely loved reading people's blogs growing up and was constantly on the lookout for more to read. Finding new fashion and lifestyle blogs to obsess over became my favourite hobby. I have always loved reading, especially anything about fashion, makeup, and girl talk. Every time I went to the local Asda, Morrisons, or Tesco with my mum or gran I just knew it would result in me hinting for the latest edition of Elle, Cosmopolitan, or even a Hello! magazine- which is the main reason I agreed to tag along.


I love keeping up to date on fashion trends, new makeup releases, and celebrity gossip. I am an extremely nosy person in general- so finding out gossip about people I have never even met before gives me the daily dose of gossip I need. Whether that be Taylor Swift's love life or the drama behind the scenes of Don't Worry Darling- I need to know!



I find it particularly hard these days to actually come across an online blog about any topic. Back when I was younger a quick Instagram search of 'blog' would bring up hundreds. Nowadays, when you type this in all that comes up are Instagram bloggers, the type that just shares their life on Instagram and promotes brands- not the actual writing articles type. Similarly, when you type into Google 'fashion blogs, for example, all that comes up are very outdated and no longer running blogs from a few years back.


So Why Did I Start My Blog?

The most simple answer to this is I just absolutely love writing and always have. It gives me a sort of escape from reality, allows me to pass time, and just allows me to rant and get all the thoughts out of my head and out of the open. I enjoy reading about fashion and lifestyle, but I enjoy writing about it so much more.


I love the fact that my blog posts can help people with general queries, such as food guides and travel guides. I also love the fact that I can bring things to people's attention that they might have never noticed before or known- such as deals, celebrity gossip or even just issues in the world. Hearing feedback on my posts or getting a simple message from someone telling me that they enjoyed reading my post or it has helped them in any way really makes my time writing worthwhile.


Although I do love hearing feedback on my posts and hearing what people think- the main reason I write posts for my blog is for myself. I love looking back on my old posts and just having a place where all my content lives that I can look at whenever I want. In particular, I love reading back on the posts that are about me, such as my travel guides and posts about my general life- thee are so rewarding to look back on and see how far my blog has come.



The scenario in which I started my blog was when I was in college and one of our projects was to create a website and publish three articles on it that can be assessed. I absolutely jumped on this assignment as I had always wanted to create my own blog anyway, but this was I was basically getting tutored through it. I'll never forget my tutor at the time, her name was Sandra and she was such a lovely woman who was so helpful to me and showed me everything I needed to know about blogging as she had her own baking blog.


After two years of studying Journalism and achieving my HND- I got into several different Universities for sports journalism, journalism in general as well as media and communications but I just knew the path wasn't right for me, I love writing when I want not when other people want me to and to deadlines. I think if I had taken that route, my spark and love for writing would have probably faded a lot as I would be doing it all day long, and that would most likely be the last thing I wanted to do after a long day writing to tight deadlines.


I definitely do not regret studying journalism, as it taught me so much about writing such as stylism, how to write for print, and radio techniques, as well as taught me how to use programs such as InDesign, which is most commonly used for newspapers globally. Without my HND- I would not have the job I have now, as a real standout point for me getting my current job, was the fact I could use InDesign- which I now still currently use every day as my job requires me to make CVs using it.


I do hope I always use my blog and never stop writing, I would love to be able to look back when I am older through all the different stages of my life such as getting a new home, getting married, having kids as well as sharing all my travels and all the rest as I am sure I will share all these experiences on here for me to look back on.


If you are thinking about starting a blog, do it! it's the best thing I have ever done and there is nothing more rewarding than looking back on all my posts and seeing how far I have come.


If you don't know where to start with creating a blog, read my blog post here: Creating A Blog: Where To Start | Glasglow Blog (rhicardsramblings.com)





















13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page